Kevins Road To Riches – Another Google Money Kit Scam

by El Plumber (admin) on May 12, 2009


Is kevinsmoneytree.org a scam?

These ads for fake blogs touting Google Money Kits just keep coming and coming across all major ad networks.  This time it’s kevinsmoneytree.org.  There must be people spending tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars on advertising these earn money with Google sites, each one with some variation trying to get you to believe that Kevin Hoeffer and The Google Money System Home Business Kit will solve all your financial problems with a work at home job miracle.

Well folks, there is no miracle at kevinsmoneytree.org, just another fake blog trying to convince you that they know the secret of how you can “post links for Google” and earn money to the tune of $500 to $1500 a week doing so, all for only $1.95 shipping!

There are so many of these work at home part time make money with Google blogs that we here at the Electron Plumber are having trouble keeping up.   I’m thinking of making a master list of all these sites that people can cross check before they give anyone their credit card.

Look closer at what makes us think this is too fishy for words:

  1. Comments disabled due to spam?  On a blog?  Oh wait a sec, look closer.
  2. This “blog” is only one single page, every link on it pointing to the secure1.profitcenterlearning.com site.
  3. The profitcenterlearning.com site telling us there at only 56 slots left!  Come back in an hour, still 56 slots left!
  4. Google AdSense is an actual program where Google puts ads on sites.  We use them on this site.  They DO NOT “pay out” in 48 hours.  It takes 30-60 days before you’ll see any money from it.
  5. Fill in your info and they ask you for $1.95 for “shipping”.


Note what they DON’T tell you on this page.  Go check out the “Terms and Conditions” and you’ll see this buried in there:

“Should You fail to cancel Your Subscription within the 7 day trial, You will be billed $1.95. Additionally, You will be billed $69.90 again 7 days from the Trial Start date  and every month thereafter for Your monthly Subscription unless canceled by You.”

There are some good work at home programs and money making online sites out there.  Your first indication that any given site is NOT one of them is if they feel the need to trick you into giving up your credit card by making you think you’re only paying $1.95.

Folks, if you haven’t been tricked already, stay away from this one!

Did You Get Taken By kevinsmoneytree.org?

  1. Don’t feel bad!  Seems like hundreds if not thousands of people have been taken in by these sort of “negative option” offers that trick you by not clearly disclosing you are signing up for monthly charges.  You were tricked, it happens to the best of us.
  2. Call the number provided on the website that took you in IMMEDIATELY.  Have more than one witness listen when you call and/or record the conversation if possible.  Unfortunately many people have complained that they can never get anyone to talk to when they call.  Finding that number is up to you, they seem to keep changing.
  3. Call/write your credit card company and dispute the charges.  They never clearly disclosed the charges you were signing up for, so you have a case here.
  4. Monitor your identity by clicking here to sign up for Experian ID Protection monitoring.  Sadly, you just gave some shady characters your name, address, phone number, credit card and secret 3 digit card number.  Unlike the Google Money Kit, Experian clearly states that it’s actually 100% free for a full 30 days, then only $9.95 a month to monitor your credit accounts for fraud and identity theft.  I’d suggest signing up for AT LEAST the free month to make sure no one tries to change your address or open a new card using the current cards details you gave away.

I Didn’t Get Taken, But What Can I Do To Help?

What can you do to stop these guys from taking in more people? Warn everyone about it!
  1. Click Here to Share this on Facebook! Hit “Post to Profile” to warn your friends.
  2. Use the “Share This” links below to Digg or Twitter or Stumble or Reddit or Email or whatever service you use to share this so that other people might see it before they get scammed too!

[ad]

Related Posts:

{ 34 comments… read them below or add one }

franklin December 12, 2009 at 6:54 pm

i wish there was more we can do besides promote that it is a scam… like sue the bastards! so annoying

DARRYL November 27, 2009 at 2:54 am

There are some good work at home programs and money making online sites out there. where?????

Mike November 18, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Actually, I downloaded Yes Popups (Also a firefox plugin) for the very same reason..

Even if it was legit, its getting closed in 0.3 seconds flat if it auto plays annoying audio on my computer..

El Plumber (admin) November 10, 2009 at 1:40 pm

JimJones: Download and install the FireFox browser, then add a plugin to it called AdBlock. No more popup ads.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: